The University commenced academic activities in September 2014 with fifteen (15) programmes across three (3) take-off Faculties of Education, Humanities and Natural & Applied Sciences and Schools of Preliminary Studies (SPS) and General & Entrepreneurship Studies.

Faculty of Education

The Faculty is headed by Professor Umma Abdulwahid, a Professor of Educational Psychology, as Acting Dean who took over from Prof. Ibrahim M. Danjuma in June 2018. It offers five (5) undergraduate programmes in two (2) Departments, namely: B. A. (Ed.) English in the Department of Education; B.Sc. (Ed.) Biology, B.Sc. (Ed.) Chemistry, B.Sc. (Ed.) Mathematics and B.Sc. (Ed.) Physics in the Department of Science Education.

Faculty of Humanities

The Faculty is headed by Dr. Umar Saje as Acting Dean. The Faculty offers five (5) undergraduate programmes in three (3) Departments as follows:

Department                                                            Programme                          

  • Department of History & Int’l Studies     B.A. (Hons) History
  • Department of Islamic Studies                  B.A. (Hons) Islamic Studies
  • Department of Languages                          B.A. (Hons) Arabic

B.A. (Hons) English

B.A. (Hons) Hausa

Faculty of Natural & Applied Sciences

The Faculty is headed by Dr. Umar Ali, a Senior Lecturer, who took over fom Prof. Lawan Sani Taura in December 2018 as Acting Dean. It offers five (5) undergraduate programmes in four (4) Departments, namely:

Department                                                               Programme                          

  • Department of Biological Sciences               B.Sc. Biology
  • Department of Chemistry                               B.Sc. Chemistry
  • Dept of Mathematics & Computer Science B.Sc. Computer Science

B.Sc. Mathematics

  • Department of Physics                                     B.Sc. Physics

School of Preliminary Studies

The School is headed by Dr. Danladi Sa’adu Ibrahim, a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Education, as the Director.


a) The IJMB programme is aimed at preparing students for ‘A’ Level Examination (IJMBE) in Arts, Sciences and Social and Management Sciences areas.

The IJMBE is set up and supervised by the Interim Joint Matriculation Board (IJMB) of the Institute of Education, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria.

b) The Remedial SSCE programme is meant for those wishing to improve their ‘O’ Level results to obtain the minimum entry requirement to pursue Tertiary education. The School offers the programme in Arts, Science and Commercial subjects.

School of General & Entrepreneurship Studies

The School is headed by Dr. AbdulRahaman Ishola Ibrahim, an Associate Professor in the Department of Science Education, as the Director.

The objectives of the School are to:

  1. develop the entrepreneurial spirit among students of the University with the hope of creating new and greater socio-economic value for the society
  2. provide students with the required knowledge and practical skills that will enable them to develop viable enterprises and achieve economic independence after graduation.
  • equip students with ICT and communication skills, analytical techniques in problem-solving; negotiations; conflict resolution; leadership and inter-personal relations.

The School has two (2) programmes as follows:

a) General Studies

Courses taught under the programme are:

  • Communication in English
  • Information and Communication Technology
  • Use of Library
  • Peace and Conflict Resolution
  • History and Philosophy of Science
  • Nigerian People and Culture

b) Entrepreneurship Studies

Trades offered under the programme are:

  • Cosmetology
  • Interior Decoration
  • Tailoring
  • Beads Making
  • Leather Works